Setting The Stage

So I’ve been thinking a lot about it. How do I build myself up? How do I make myself believe that all the negative self-talk isn’t the truth and celebrate my strengths? The truth is, at this point, I don’t have the answer. But I’m on the road… I’ve finally made the conscious choice to make the journey towards self-love instead of self-loathe.

I’ve decided that instead of trying to force anything, I am going to focus on my passions. By seeking the things that add joy to my life, I may inadvertently find my strengths as well.

So here’s a short list:
Exercising; back in high school I fell in love with running, for the wrong reasons, but it made a lasting impression on my life. If I’m ever having a bad day or need to clear my head, I can throw on my running shoes and make my way back to reality. So for the duration of this personal challenge, I am choosing to focus in fitness for the right reasons. My goal is to find two news ways that I like to get sweaty by the end of the year..
Singing; I’ve loved to sing since I was a little girl. I used to sing all the time (much to the dismay of my family as it was typically something I totally made up or a boy band hit). I was convinced I was going to be famous for it one day. But then, somewhere along the line, I began to get embarrassed of my singing and I just sort if stopped. Now don’t get me wrong, I still bust out a ballad or two when I’m alone in my car but that’s the only time I do! My goal is to begin to sing again; unashamed of how I may sound or who may hear me. I’m just going to do it anyway!
Getting outside; there’s really something about being outside for a sunset or those Sunday mornings you can pull yourself out of bed to enjoy the silence of a universally slow morning and listen to the birds chirp. I am going to try to enjoy at least two of those spring mornings this year and many more stolen moments outside enjoying the sun (with sunscreen on of course.)
The people I love; this may seem like something odd to add to a ‘passionate about’ list since it applies to more than one person but for me, it’s something I couldn’t leave off! There is a reason this falls last on the list though.. In order to really focus on them and be the best version of myself for them, I think I have to conquer my inner demons first. To avoid the no-use arguments and miscommunications with my near and dear, I have to figure out my stuff first. So my goal is to really be able to open myself up to all my loved ones by the end of the year by opening myself up to loving who I am. This is going to be my hardest goal to accomplish by far but it will also be the longest lasting reward.

Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it. – Rumi

This strategy may not work in the wrong run but it can’t hurt and it certainly won’t be a bad thing to add more simple jog in my life! So I’m jumping in! Anyone have a song suggestion for me?!

So what about you? What are you passionate about? What things or activities do you love that can really bring you back to earth when you most need it?

One thought on “Setting The Stage

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

