What Makes Your Heart Beat?

I’ve decided to take a literal and figurative approach to answering this question. With all the possibilities still up in the air about what may be causing my heart to “flip-flop” I’ve begun thinking about my heart and what it really does. Before I go on, I want to clarify something; I am experiencing a minor heart rhythm issue that may be hereditary. There are other people that are facing far worse and I want to make it clear that I am not trying to be unsympathetic to them. My situation has simply made me realize that life is short and has got me thinking (here I go again) about a deeper meaning to it all.
I’ve always possessed a flair for dramatics and have grown into quite the philosophical soul– I want to determine an explanation for some things and see the beautiful possibility of others. So I am choosing to look at my heart in two ways. (1) my heart is the source within my body that enables me to live and (2) my heart is the source within my body that enables me to love.
Science defines the heart as “a pump. It’s a muscular organ about the size of your fist and located slightly left of center in your chest … Together, your heart and blood vessels comprise your cardiovascular system, which circulates blood and oxygen around your body … Your heart also has electrical wiring, which keeps … your heart beating in a coordinated and normal rhythm, which in turn keeps blood circulating. The continuous exchange of oxygen-rich blood with oxygen-poor blood is what keeps you alive.” (Mayo Clinic). The engine to the machine.
Emotionally, I define my heart as my compass. So what makes my heart beat aside from electrical impulses? What makes me truly feel alive? Moments. Moments of silence on top of a mountain just listening to the breeze and seeing so far on the horizon I feel like I could touch the ends of the Earth. Moments where the emotional dam breaks and I’m left soaked in my own tears. Moments with my family and friends where the love between us is palpable. Moments when music consumes me. Moments of passion and strength. Moments where I break free from my fears during a long jog or finishing a hard workout. Finally, moments where I am so sure of myself I feel as though I could change the world. My heart beats for these moments. They are so simple yet complex. They define who I am and why I keep going. My heart beats because it is physiologically able but it thrives off of these moments. The reason for my irregular heartbeat is still undetermined but the collection of all these things has made it so strong.

Watch this: http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=a9O0jIMfdNs

So… What makes your heart beat?

20140415-140930.jpg

One thought on “What Makes Your Heart Beat?

Add yours

  1. What a great post! There’s a lot that makes my heart beat, both physically and emotionally! The top of my list would be my Hubs, Pup and running. Those three keep me going in the right direction. They’re my compass 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

